Spikeless Golf Shoes

For a smaller guy, I’m quite heavy footed and you can definitely hear me coming from a little way away.  (Subtle and silent isn’t part of my repertoire).  Not surprisingly, I go through shoes very quickly and golf shoes are no exception.

Last year, I bought a pair of Adidas golf Adicross spikeless and just loved them.  In fact, I don’t think I’ll go back spiked shoes again.

1. Traction and Performance

Instead of traditional soft spikes, the sole is just a bunch of (non-replace-able) nubs designed to clear debris and provide traction.  At first, I was quite concerned about morning dew and playing in wet conditions but they’ve actually held out better than I expected.  After playing 30+ rounds last season, I’ll say they held up really well.

In dry weather, you won’t even notice.  It does its job and quietly stays out of the way.

In wet weather, admittedly, they are not as stable as traditional shoes, but I’ve never really slipped because of bad footing.  I have slipped from overswinging but that likely would’ve occurred with spiked shoes anyway.

Continue reading